In 20 years I’d like to be…

Goals. Dreams. Planning for the future.
Yeah, I don’t do any of that.

People are often pretty shocked when I tell them that I don’t really have any plans or goals for my future. They usually look either confused or horrified or a mixture of both. I don’t play that whole “Where do you see yourself in (insert number here) years” game. I think it’s pointless.

It’s pointless because I hate disappointment. I hate wanting something so badly and then it not happening. So, I learned early on in life that if I don’t make any huge plans or goals, then I can’t possibly be disappointed.

Some people seem to think it’s lazy or irresponsible. BUT GUESS WHAT? I don’t care what people think, especially when it comes to my life and how I choose to live it.

I’m 26 years old. I’ve made a career for myself, without college. I don’t make a huge amount of money, but I love my job and what I do and I make enough money to support myself. I have my own apartment that I pay for entirely on my own. I am about to buy my third car, all of which I have bought on my own. I have a 736 credit score, I have my of my shit together and I am utterly happy.

Do things go wrong? Sure. Am I sometimes unable to pay for something? Duh. Am I literally always happy at every single moment of my life? Almost!

Now, of course I set little goals. Goals that I know for a fact I’m going to accomplish. Because if there is any doubt at all, even a little, I want no part in it.

I literally live my life day by day. And I’m completely happy with that. I don’t have to stress about college loan debt. I don’t worry about really much of anything.

I’m also not positive the way I live would work for everyone. I’m just glad it works for me.

Leave a Reply

